Knitted pigeons (yes, really)

One of the 1000 things I’ve been really looking forward to in the book is number 884: ‘Knitting for nowt’. Over the last few years knitting has been becoming a bit of an obsession of mine. It is something I do pretty much every day and most of my non-working computer time is spent on the wonderful Ravelry.

Yesterday I joined Stitch London to knit pigeons in St James’ Park before taking them to Trafalgar Square to photograph them. This was in honour of the wonderful American toy designer Anna Hrachovec of Mochimochi Land who was visiting London and had designed the free tiny pigeon knitting pattern.

Anna was lovely and it was exciting to meet someone who has inspired me to learn new techniques so that I can make her toys! I can’t wait for her new book to come out in the UK in August.

Here are my pigeons:

IMG_1662

Anna’s originals!
IMG_1663
IMG_1658

And some group photos!

IMG_1686

IMG_1698

Claire

Challenge 884, 156/1000 completed

~ by yellowpurplezebra on 22/06/2010.

2 Responses to “Knitted pigeons (yes, really)”

  1. I would like to know what the original pigeons in Trafalgar Square thought of all this.

  2. Excellent photos. Your pigeons should be very proud.

    Thanks for taking part on the pigeon party. :)

    Deadly Knitshade x

Leave a Reply

 
